LONDON BOROUGH OF BROMLEY

MINUTES

of the proceedings of the special Meeting of the Council of the Borough held at 5.45 pm on 16 May 2018

Present:

The Worshipful the Mayor Councillor Kathy Bance MBE

The Deputy Mayor Councillor Kevin Brooks

Councillors

Marina Ahmad Gareth Allatt Vanessa Allen Graham Arthur Yvonne Bear Julian Benington Nicholas Bennett J.P. Kim Botting FRSA Mike Botting Katy Boughey Mark Brock David Cartwright QFSM Mary Cooke Aisha Cuthbert Peter Dean lan Dunn Nicky Dykes Judi Ellis

Simon Fawthrop Peter Fortune Kira Gabbert Hannah Grav Will Harmer Colin Hitchins Samaris Huntington-Thresher William Huntington-Thresher Simon Jeal David Jeffervs Charles Joel Josh King Kate Lymer Christopher Marlow Robert Mcilveen Russell Mellor

Peter Morgan Keith Onslow Tony Owen **Chris Pierce** Neil Reddin FCCA Will Rowlands Michael Rutherford Suraj Sharma Colin Smith Diane Smith **Gary Stevens Melanie Stevens** Harry Stranger **Kieran Terry** Michael Tickner Pauline Tunnicliffe Michael Turner Stephen Wells

The meeting was opened with prayers

In the Chair The Mayor Councillor Kathy Bance MBE

104 ADMISSION OF HONORARY FREEMAN OF THE BOROUGH

The report of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee on 6th February 2018 was considered and the following motion was moved by Councillor Colin Smith and seconded by Councillor Stephen Wells –

Council 16 May 2018

That the honorary freedom of the London Borough of Bromley be conferred on Mr Stephen L Carr in recognition of his distinguished service as Leader of the Council from 2004 to 2017; for the significant contribution he has made to the life of the borough as a councillor since 1999 and his outstanding qualities of leadership and integrity. In particular, he has led the Council through challenging times of financial constraint whilst maintaining quality services, especially for vulnerable people, and made regeneration a key priority, securing many improvements across the borough. The Council also recognises his highly respected work representing Bromley on London Councils' committees, in particular on the Leader's Committee and the Grants Committee.

The motion was **CARRIED** unanimously.

The Meeting ended at 6.00 pm

Mayor